The daily musings of a substitute teacher in East Central Illinois.

And Thus It Ends

Today was the last possible day I could have been asked to substitute in Mahomet. Champaign and Urbana both ended earlier this week. I didn’t work, because none of the teachers or administrators in Mahomet are sadistic enough to ask a sub to come in on the last day of the year. This is also true of those in Champaign and Urbana. Just one of the many reasons I love these districts!

And thus it ends. My third year as a substitute teacher.

Year one was a decent year, with assignments a few times a week. Year two was dreadful, with an average of one assignment a week, and then only when a teacher at Robeson Elementary had requested me. So I began this year with the desire to expand my opportunities. I officially entered the sub lists for Mahomet, Urbana, and Rantoul. Rantoul called me about four or five times, but always late in the morning when I already had an assignment. I spent a total of two days in Urbana, although they, too, had called when I was already working.

This year, on the other hand, has been a very busy year. It had a slow start, with about three assignments a week, but by the beginning of the second term, I was working just about every single day possible. My reputation had spread, and many teachers wanted me in their rooms. It was exciting to have multiple requests come for the same day. Hopefully no feelings were hurt if I selected one teacher over another.

This was also the year I decided to blog my experiences. My one regret is that I didn’t start doing this three years ago! I think I have learned more about my craft by writing about it then I possibly could have just doing it. Reflection is such an important element of teaching. I remember my cooperating teacher from my first student teaching experience complimenting me on my natural desire to reflect and evaluate myself. I am glad that I have kept it up.

This summer will bring new adventures. I am on the list to sub for summer school teachers in Champaign, and I will be looking into whether or not Mahomet also uses subs in the summer. I have also applied for a variety of summer jobs, including evening custodial work, pharmacy/convenience store jobs, and small boutique firms. I will most likely be swabbing toilets again, which is a return to my first summer job after graduating from the University of Illinois. (It was a part-time temp job that turned into a full-time vocation as I ended up running the company with my wife for about a year and a half!)

And, of course, there are the scores of full-time teaching positions to be sought. I have spent the past two days applying for several dozen already, and there will be many more to go.

So, what of Adventures in Substituting over the summer? Well, the poll results are in (thank you to the six people who seem to actually stop by and read), and it looks like I am going to be writing about whatever education-y things that pop into my head. But, no fear, Laurie and mystery vote! I will also blog about books I’ve read and about my philosophy! So I guess I’ll be doing an all-of-the-above blog.

Please keep coming by! You can also follow me on Twitter or friend me on Facebook to find out when I update!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

