The daily musings of a substitute teacher in East Central Illinois.

Summer Posts (A Poll)

Today was a day that I have spent (and will continue to spend, for those noticing that I am updating around noon) applying for teaching jobs all over Illinois. I am also going to be applying for jobs in the community for summer work. Which leads me to an all-so-important question:

What should I do with my blog until August comes? If I get a full-time teaching position, I will no longer have any adventures in substituting to share. I will, of course, create a new blog to track my adventures as a full-time teacher. If I don’t get a full-time position, I will have brand-new adventures to share when school starts up again. But that gives 12 weeks, at least, in which I won’t have much to write about. My wife and I share a personal blog, so there’s no need to make personal updates here (besides, that’s not really what I want this blog to be). So, I’ve thought about a couple of things I can do, and thought I’d post them here as a poll to see what you all suggest. (Note: I still don’t know who “you all” actually are… I know a few of you, but I seem to have far more site visitors than commenters, so either I have web crawlers all over the place, or I just have people who come read, and then run away.)

Anyway, here’s the poll:

If I come up with any other ideas, I’ll be sure to post them. Tomorrow is the last official day of school in any of the districts that use me as a substitute! My summer “vacation” officially begins on Friday, although I am sure I’ll find some kind of work to keep myself busy.

2 responses

  1. Laurie

    I always like to know what other people are reading and what they think of the book – good and bad.

    June 1, 2011 at 1:35 pm

  2. I would like you to continue to opine on the topic of education waving, as you sometimes do, red flags in my face so I can continue to charge at your ideas in the spirit of making them more nimble. Which is to say, I’m up for a good fight any time you want to start one here.

    June 1, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

