The daily musings of a substitute teacher in East Central Illinois.

The Proof Is in the Pudding

Today I was a 5th grade teacher at Robeson Elementary in Champaign. It was a good day, but I’m not going to write about today for the simple fact that I am going to be there again on Monday. Also, I got an absolutely wonderful email this afternoon from the teacher for whom I was subbing yesterday and I wanted to share it.

As you may have noticed, I was wondering if my notes were worth taking the time to write and whether or not I was sharing too much information. I always leave my email and phone number, but there are very few teachers who have ever contacted me after an assignment. In fact, with the exception of the teachers who regularly request me, the only other teacher who has ever emailed me was a teacher a few months ago who emailed me to apologise for how awful her class had been to me. So I was incredibly happy to receive an email today regarding the note I left yesterday. This is what she wrote:

I must thank you for your very detailed sub notes and your willingness to follow my directions and work with the students to make sure those tasks were accomplished. I greatly appreciate everything you did to help me and the students (and I KNOW they can be difficult). Of the three days I was gone, yesterday went the best, and that was due to you. I would love to have you sub for me again in the future!

So I guess the old saying is true: the proof is in the pudding! (I did, of course, email her back to thank her for her kind comments and to assure her that I really would be happy to come back, even thought I hope she isn’t gone that often.) I’m quite honestly happy to know that I did indeed accomplish something worthwhile with a group of students who can, as their teacher said, be difficult.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

