The daily musings of a substitute teacher in East Central Illinois.

Making the Best of a Boring Situation

Today I was a math teacher at Mahomet-Seymour High School. This marked my first assignment in Mahomet since January 11 and the first at the high school since November 22 (which was the day I infamously taught about fossilised poop). Anyway, I was quite excited to finally return to Mahomet and find out how many of the students still remembered who I was. I knew in advance that I was going to be working in a classroom with both a student teacher and a co-teacher, which meant that I wouldn’t be doing much.

In reality, I did pretty much nothing all day. The student teacher had everything under control and was totally prepared to take charge of the classroom. She is sort of in the midst of a take-over, although it isn’t the “official” take-over that is required during the course of the student teaching experience. When the student teacher wasn’t teaching, the co-teacher was. So I had nothing to do all day. It was, in all honesty, an incredibly boring day.

However, I was able to make the best of the situation. For one, a few students in each period did remember me and they at least said hello. I was able to observe other teachers work their craft. I also finished reading The Dreamkeepers and will be writing up a review soon. (It will most likely be posted on Saturday, as I have assignments for tomorrow, Thursday, and Friday.) Also, I was able to give some serious thought to how I would answer the question as to what my philosophy of education is. The short answer is that my philosophy is summarised by three belief systems of thought: egalitarianism, transactionalism, and experientialism. I don’t know that these belief systems are truly accepted systems, but I will explain them later and explain how they work together.

So even though I had an incredibly boring day, I don’t regret taking the assignment. I made the best of the time and I enjoyed observing others.

10 responses

  1. And they gave you money!

    February 23, 2011 at 6:32 am

  2. Why is a four-eyed crab my avatar? I liked the geometric thingy.

    February 23, 2011 at 6:32 am

  3. Make it stop!

    February 23, 2011 at 6:33 am

  4. Aaaaaauuuuugggggghhhhhh!!!!!!

    February 23, 2011 at 6:33 am

  5. I thought the identicons (geometric shapes) were boring, so I changed the default avatars to MonsterID. I find them incredibly amusing.

    February 23, 2011 at 9:22 pm

  6. Of course, if you have your own wordpress or OpenID avatar (or gravatar, which is what wordpress calls theirs), you get to see that, instead. But I like your four-eyed crab.

    February 23, 2011 at 9:23 pm

  7. Tyrant.

    February 23, 2011 at 9:38 pm

  8. I went and got my own wordpress bloggy thingy so I could be free of your gravatarial tyranny.

    February 23, 2011 at 10:06 pm

  9. Even so, in my mind, you will forever more be remembered as the four-eyed crab man.

    February 24, 2011 at 7:09 am

  10. You noted, I hope, my choice of gravatar includes gargoyles. Historical monsters, that is. One cannot escape one’s destiny and it appears to be my fate to have a monster-themed gravatar.

    February 24, 2011 at 8:57 am

Leave a Reply

