The daily musings of a substitute teacher in East Central Illinois.

Floating Along

Today I was a special education floater sub at Edison Middle School in Champaign. This means that I was filling in for whichever special ed teacher at the time needed to be away from her class in order to conference with students and/or parents. It was a rather interesting day as a result. Nothing horrible happened, nor did anything outstanding happen.

I wish I had some fun stories to tell about today, but I don’t really have much of anything. I was just kind of floating along all day, helping out in whatever class I happened to be asked to step into. I was an assistant 8th grade math teacher, 8th grade reading teacher, and 6th grade science teacher. I monitored the special ed room for a couple of class periods.

I did start reading a new book today, while taking an unplanned break from the Dune series (I accidentally left the book at my brother’s house in St. Louis and won’t be getting it back until Saturday.) The book is The Dreamkeepers by Gloria Ladson-Billings. I will almost certainly post a review of the book when I finish, as it is one of the many pedagogical books I own. It is a case study of successful teaching of African American students. The first few pages made me very angry, but I have high hopes for the rest of the book. And no, I won’t discuss why I was angry until I get to the end.

One response

  1. jenny linsenmeyer

    I read about half of that one. It’s certainly interesting, let me know what you think.

    February 8, 2011 at 9:13 pm

Leave a Reply

