The daily musings of a substitute teacher in East Central Illinois.

Music Meme

Today is the first official day of the two-week Winter Break. My friend Natasha recently made a blog post based on a Facebook music meme, and I thought it’d be fun to do, too. Also, it gives me something to post today as I continue my ongoing project of recording and sorting my library. The meme was to list the first fifteen songs that play on your iPod when you set the songs to shuffle. I agree with Natasha that fifteen is just not enough, so I decided to follow her example and double it. So here’s the list of the first 30 songs that played while I was sorting through my classroom collection of juvenile nonfiction:

  1. Take It Outside – Barenaked Ladies (Everything to Everyone)
  2. My Love – Celine Dion (Taking Chances)
  3. Look Up (To See What’s Coming Down) – Santana (Caravanserai)
  4. Lean On Me – Bill Withers (on a mix album my wife and her best friend made)
  5. She Will Be Loved – Maroon 5 (Songs About Jane)
  6. Backdoor Man – The Doors (The Best of the Doors)
  7. Feels Like Today – Rascal Flatts (single track)
  8. Baby, Let’s Play House – Scott Bakula (Quantum Leap soundtrack)
  9. Disenchanted – My Chemical Romance (The Black Parade)
  10. Spawn – George (Polyserena)
  11. We Never Wanted a Legacy – Jealousy Curve (demo album)
  12. I Still Miss Someone – Johnny Cash (16 Biggest Hits)
  13. I Wanna Be Like You – Big Bad Voodoo Daddy (Swingers
  14. A Thousand Years – Sting (Brand New Day)
  15. Master of Puppets – Metallica (Master of Puppets)
  16. Shine – Plain White T’s (Stop)
  17. Evil with a Dog Face – Theodore Shapiro (Marley & Me soundtrack)
  18. Blow Ya Mind – Lock N Load (Best Remixes)
  19. Not Coming Home – Maroon 5 (Songs About Jane)
  20. Tongue Tied – Eve 6 (Eve 6)
  21. Agony – Robert Westenberg (Prince Charming) & Chuck Wagner (Rapunzel’s Prince) (Into the Woods soundtrack)
  22. Tears – Bonnie Tyler (Faster Than The Speed Of Night)
  23. Speed of Sound – Coldplay (mix album)
  24. All The Things She Said – t.A.T.u. (200 km/h In The Wrong Lane)
  25. All The Way to Reno – R.E.M. (In Time: The Best of R.E.M.)
  26. You Love to Sing (Slow Version) – Copeland (Dressed Up & In Line)
  27. Moon Over Bourbon Street – Sting (Bring on the Night Disc 2)
  28. Angel Eyes – Tony Bennett (Perfectly Frank)
  29. If This Is It – Huey Lewis & The News (The Heart of Rock & Roll: The Best of Huey Lewis & The News)
  30. OK – Holly Conlan (Bird – EP)
  31. Bonus: SNL Celebrity Jeopardy – Alex Trebek, Ozzy Osbourne, Martha Stewart, and Sean Connery (I know that this is not a song, nor does it actually feature any of the celebrities listed, but it showed up in the shuffle, and I figured it was worth including.)

Looking over this list, I am very happy that Barenaked Ladies were first. I love their music, and own every album they’ve released to date. I am also glad to see that I had a wide selection of my musical tastes represented. I was kind of shocked to have more than one song by Sting show up, particularly since I own considerably more BNL music, but that’s just the luck of the draw. I’d love you know what kind of music you all listen to, as well. You don’t have to list the first 30, or even 15, tracks from your iPod’s shuffle, but feel free to share some music! Gretch and I usually find ourselves in possession of an iTunes gift card or two after Christmas, and we’re looking to expand our music collection.

Leave a Reply

