The daily musings of a substitute teacher in East Central Illinois.

Winter Famine

Today was another in a recent spat of days in which I did not teach. This isn’t because of a lack of interest, nor is it due to teachers not wanting me in the room. Rather, it is the result of the regular winter famine that comes to nearly every substitute as the last days before the end of the term approach. Teachers now have two days to finish everything they need to teach and assess before the students turn their brains over to the mindless drudgery of video games, cookies, hot chocolate, It’s A Wonderful Life, and Miracle on 34th Street. Not that I have anything against any of these activities. It is just a reality that students will try desperately to forget everything they have learned over the past four months in roughly two and a half weeks.

So instead of teaching today, I spent the first part of the morning getting my wife ready for her first day of work at her new job. She was recently hired as a graphic designer for a local company that, among many other things, puts out a quarterly coupon catalogue for local businesses. It is an awesome job and initial reports indicate that she is very happy to be working at what she does best: designing. She will also continue to run her freelance design company, although she will only be able to take on new projects on a limited basis.

After making sure she was set, I went off to help two of my best friends move. Dan and Rachel got married not too terribly long after Gretch and I did. I’ve been friends with them for about five years or so, and Gretch has been friends with them for the past four years or so. Rachel was just hired onto the faculty at a small girls’ college in a small town in Alabama, and she starts work in January. So they had to pack up and move. I went yesterday afternoon and helped them load up the truck for about four hours. Then I went this morning with my friend Noah and we continued to load things up. Noah had to leave around noon, but I was able to stay a few hours longer. We got the truck loaded up and set for the trucking company to come take it. All in all, I spent over ten hours helping them load up their belongings and prepare for the long drive to Alabama. They are leaving tomorrow morning and will arrive at their new home some time on Friday.

Now I am back home and wondering what I should do with the rest of my day. I don’t have scouts or class this evening, and Gretch is still at work. I will probably work on organising, sorting, and recording all of my books. When I finish the complete project, I will be sure to post a picture for everyone who cares to see the awesomeness that is my personal library. I also need to start thinking about what I will do during the next few weeks when I am not working. I think I am going to devote some serious time and energy into writing my philosophy of education. As it develops, I will probably post it here for your critical review. My goal is to outline my beliefs regarding the who, what, where, when, why, and how of education. Let me know if there are any aspects of education you would specifically like to know about!

Leave a Reply

