The daily musings of a substitute teacher in East Central Illinois.

Déjà Vu

Today I was a 7th grade math teacher at Edison Middle School. Again. I have been to this class once a month for the past three months now, and with today’s assignment, I have completed this particular batch. I hope that I’ll be back, though, because these seventh graders were a lot of fun.

An interesting thing about the work was that I was, once again, there for just a half day. But instead of being there in the morning and seeing each class period for about 15-20 minutes, I was there for the afternoon and had three classes total. So today was the first day that I was actually with any of these students for an extended period of time.

I was quite glad to hear several of them express joy at seeing me again, even if I was a bit confused by the claim that one boy made that I am “the best math substitute teacher ever.” I pointed out that I have only been with his particular class once before, and then it was a half day in which they were only there for about 15-20 minutes. Furthermore, I explained, the one time I was with them, they had a quiz, so I hadn’t actually taught any of them math. He thought about this for a moment, and concluded that, while true, his statement still held. I accepted his compliment, and told him I’d expect a report at the end of class as well, to see if he still believed I was the best math substitute.

The only down-side to the entire day was when, for the first time, I actually met the teacher for whom I was subbing. She asked me if I had been to Edison Middle School before. I told her that, not only had I been to Edison several times, but I had subbed for her twice. She had no idea. Even when I told her the days I had subbed, she still didn’t remember. So much for leaving detailed notes and offering to come back any time! Hopefully she’ll remember me now, though.

Her class certainly did. And, for the record, the student who said I am the best math substitute teacher ever (and presumably the best substitute in general) still feels that way.

3 responses

  1. Do you think that most teachers are unaware/unconcerned with the substitute teachers who come into their classes or that this one teacher was one of a kind?

    November 4, 2010 at 6:48 pm

  2. Many of the teachers for whom I subbed will request me to come back to their classes. Many other teachers in the building recognise me and let me know that, if they need a sub, they will probably call me. I have even had building principals and administrative assistants put in requests for me because they know that I am familiar with the building policies, procedures, and the students.

    So I think that most teachers are very aware of who is in their room. My mother-in-law, for whom I sub quite frequently, has even made a list of subs that she does not want in her room, because she has such a low opinion of them. So yes, I think that this teacher is one of a kind. My hope is that her lack of recognition was a result of my half-day assignments rather than an lack of concern.

    November 4, 2010 at 8:15 pm

  3. Pingback: Pejoratives and Growing Up |

Leave a Reply

