The daily musings of a substitute teacher in East Central Illinois.

New Site Design!

Today was a half-day in the Champaign school district–at least for students. Teachers had parent-teacher conferences all afternoon, evening, and they have them all day tomorrow. And even though I am officially on the sub lists for two other districts and almost on the list for a third, I didn’t have any work for today. So I decided to do something else.

For those who are visiting the site (hopefully everyone reading this), I’m sure you’ll have noticed the changes. I asked my wonderfully talented wife to design a banner for the blog, and she did more than that–she designed a banner, a background, and she found a new design for the layout. We are still working out some of the kinks in the new design, though, and I am hoping for some input from you, my oh-so-amazingly awesome readers who mainly lurk around as you read of my adventures.

So here are the questions:
What’s working well with the new design?
What’s not working? That is, what still needs to be changed?
What web browser and operating system are you using?

Please be specific in your comments! We really want this to be a blog with not just good content, but good design! While I can’t promise that Gretch will implement all of your suggestions, I know that she will greatly appreciate the feedback!

4 responses

  1. I’m using Google Chrome on Windows XP SP3, but can also test with Firefox 3.1, Internet Explorer 8, and whatever the latest version of Opera is.

    I will say that the gray text is a bit tough to read (e.g., the color used for “Posted on October 28, 2010” or “This entry was posted in Day off.” Otherwise, not bad.

    October 28, 2010 at 6:04 pm

  2. So, we changed the banner colour and lightened the background. We looked at switching the text colours to the “light background” setting, but all it did was make the body and title texts black, the links bright blue, while the “Posted on” line remained grey. Without paying for a customised CSS design, there isn’t anything we can change about it and still have the background and banner.

    Sorry!

    October 29, 2010 at 10:22 am

  3. Elise

    Small problems:

    1. the background image does not tile nicely so it looks really weird on my big screen. I do have a really big screen though so you might not need to worry about this.

    2. The blue links don’t contrast very well with the blue background. They grey text contrasts even worse with the blue background and I can’t really read what date/time the comments were posted (for example).

    BIG PROBLEM
    You are using inline CSS to style the body text as a white colour (this particular entry is okay but the following one isn’t). This inline style is pulling through to the RSS feed which means that your blog is now completely unreadable in my feed reader!

    Also, I am using Google Chrome on a mac 🙂

    October 30, 2010 at 6:02 pm

  4. 1. We were worried about the tiling, but figured that most normal people wouldn’t have screens so large they would notice. 😛

    2. We can’t change the colour of the links, and they don’t contrast well with any background that isn’t super light 😦

    3. We did change the colour scheme for the text in general, though, so the body text is now dark grey instead of white. I think the blue links have somewhat better contrast than before.

    Let me know if this helps at all!

    October 30, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Leave a Reply

