The daily musings of a substitute teacher in East Central Illinois.

Pajama Day

As you may have noticed, I’ve been battling a rather nasty cold for the past several days. After feeling like I was going to pass out during a very light teaching assignment yesterday, I realised I needed to take a day off to recover. I think it has helped. I am still a bit congested, but I am not coughing up all sorts of nastiness all the time, and I can walk around without feeling like I am going to fall over.

So, what does a substitute teacher do on a week-day when he’s not working? I can’t speak for all substitutes, but I can speak for myself. Today was a pajama day. I woke up, had breakfast and read a few chapters out of “A Reader for the Teacher: An anthology of ideas and teaching helps taken from ‘The Instructor’–The teachers’ magazine of the Church [of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints]” compiled by A. Hamer Reiser. (I was going to provide a link for this book, but it is apparently out of publication. Not surprising, I suppose, since it was originally published in  1960, and the LDS Church has made many considerable changes to its teaching program in the past 50 years.)

After getting in my morning’s reading, I decided to tackle one of the many projects I’ve had accumulating around home. Today’s project was sorting and organising all of the VHS tapes and DVDs that my wife and I own. In the process, I discovered a tape from my 8th grade graduation that I didn’t even know existed, found an old home video my oldest brother and his wife sent my parents about five years ago, and rediscovered some wonderful movies that I forgot I owned, while also watching some I’d never seen.

All this while wearing my pajamas and spending time with my wife, who was taking a break from her own current design project. So, all in all, a productive day at home for your favourite substitute teacher trying to recover from a cold!

Leave a Reply

